In the Academic year 1951, the Higher Polytechnic Institute (HPI) was established in our country. This date marks the beginning of Higher Education in Albania. At that period, three Directions were involved: Civil, Mechanical and Electrical. The first Rector of HPI was Prof. Zija Këlliçi. Later, other Faculties were set up in Albania and in 1957 they all founded the State University of Tirana.
In 1991, during the previous system, all the Engineering Faculties were regrouped and the Polytechnic University of Tirana (PUT) was founded.
In 2007, as a result of the reform initiated by the Albanian government for the reformation of the scientific research in Albania, the structure of Polytechnic University of Tirana changed and currently it consists of six Faculties and one Institution of Research and Development

  • Faculty of Geology and Mining
  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering
  • Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
  • Faculty of Mathematical Engineering and Physics Engineering
  • Faculty of Construction Engineering
  • Faculty of Information Technology
  • Institute of Geo-sciences and Energy, Water and Environment.

The first Rector of PUT was Prof. Gëzim Karapici. His successors in the post of a Rector were Prof. Emil Lamani, Prof. Tamara Eftimi and Prof. Përparim Hoxha. The current Rector of the Polytechnic University is Academic Jorgaq Kaçani. The Rector has a mandate of four years. He is elected by the academic staff, non-academic staff and the students and is nominated by the President of the Republic of Albania.
Polytechnic University of Tirana is a Public Institution.

  • Register Now

    Located at the Polytechnic University of Tirana, the amount for the registration fee is 200 EURO and includes: conference hand-outs, meals, coffee breaks and local transport.

  • About the Forum

    The Mediterranean and Black Sea Region has recently witnessed a profound process of reforms and changes in the political and socio-economic spheres. more

  • Topics

    • The new role of the University in the current regional and global context
    • University management marketing
    • Curricula development and implementation of Bachelor, Master and PhD study programs
    • Teaching and learning technologies
    • Management of RTDI projects

Agenda Top

May 16, 2012

Arrival of participants
19:00 -
BSUN Executive Board Meeting
20:00 -
Welcome Cocktail

May 17, 2012

10:00 -
Opening Ceremony of the Forum
  • Welcoming speeches :
    1. Prof. Dr. Jorgaq Kacani, Rector, Polytechnic University of Tirana
    2. Prof. Dr. Dimitry Livanov, BSUN President
    3. Acad. Michaylo Zgurovski, Rector, National Technical University of Ukraine
    4. H.E. Mr. Ramu Damodaran, Head of UNAI Secretariat
    5. Prof. Dr. Leo Vincent, RMEI President
    6. H.E. Mr. Kyrylo Tretiak, PABSEC Secretary General
    7. Ambassador Leonidas Chrysanthopoulos, BSEC Secretary General
    8. Prof. Dr. Ilan Chet, Union of the Mediterranean
    9. Prof. Carlo Di Benedetta, Coordinator of the Head Office, Community of Mediterranean Universities
11:00 -
Coffee Break
11:30 - 13:00
Plenary Session: "The Role of Universities in Building Sustainable Peace & Welfare in the Mediterranean & Black Sea Region"
13:00 - 14:30
14:30 - 18:00
Parallel Sessions of the Forum
  • Session A : Intercultural Dialog & Social Cohesion
  • Session B : Conflict Prevention & Sustainable Peace Building
  • Session C : Sustainable Development & Governance
  • Session D : Knowledge Innovation Communities
  • Session E : Education Technologies & Networking
16:15 - 16:45
18:30 - 21:00
Social Programme

May 18, 2012 Second part of the Forum with specific setup by partner organization

9:00 -
Ordinary Session of the BSUN Congress
  • Chairmen :
    1. Prof. Dr. Jorgaq Kacani, Rector, Polytechnic University of Tirana
    2. Prof. Dr. Dimitry Livanov, BSUN President
    3. Acad. Michaylo Zgurovski, Rector, National Technical University of Ukraine
9:30 -
Cooperation under the BSUN framework: Lessons learned
11:00 -
Coffee Break
11:30 - 13:00
Cooperation under the BSUN framework: Setting up a new agenda
13:00 - 14:30
14:30 - 16:30
Plenary Session of the 10th Conference of Rectors from the Black Sea Region
  • Chairman : Acad. Michaylo Zgurovski, Rector, National Technical University of Ukraine
17:30 -
Closing of the Forum and adoption of the Tirana Declaration of University Rectors from the Mediterranean & Black Sea Region
19:00 -

May 19, 2012

Satellite Events
Social Programme
Departure of the participants